I know why it’s cold in Pasadena…

…and it’s all my fault.  It all started a few weeks ago, when it was hot.

Reason 1:  When we moved in to the house, not a single window had a screen on it, and that was fine for two years.  But our interior bug population grew in diversity on a nightly basis as we cooled the house the California way…by opening up every single window and door and letting the cool air flow into the house.  It was time for some screens.  Behind our garage, I discovered what seemed to be a stockpile of old metal mesh screens, many of which looked to be the right sizes.  I grabbed the one that measured about right for the bedroom window, hosed off the cob webs, and climbed through the rose bushes to see if it would work.  Nope!  I cannot figure out for the life of me why it would be ½ inch on all sides for the window…very strange.  I wedged it in there to make it mildly effective and then convinced Woody we needed screens.  Turns out it is simple and completely reasonable in price.  I researched, called a guy, scheduled them, and then in one afternoon, we were set…brand new screens in 15 out of 20 windows!

And now…it is freezing.  No reason to open the windows to cool the house off when it’s only a high of 63 degrees.

Reason 2:  When I scheduled the screen guys to come out…Woody was disappointed I hadn’t yet dealt with our sprinkler issues.  (Sprinkler issues meaning multiple geysers in the front and back yard and most likely additional unknown problems).  So, why not deal with everything all at the same time.  Sprinkler guys arrive Monday morning for an estimate…and then I was hit with a doozy.  Some serious sprinkler issues, like pressure issues, some kind of commercial backflow, many broken heads, poor zoning and at least one broken sprinkler line. So, I scheduled the work as the lawn has been teetering on the edge of dead-ness…in the tunnel, looking at the beautiful light and thinking it looks pretty good, and the weather is bound to turn ungodly hot very soon.  So I scheduled sprinkler guys, and the weather turns cold, chilly, dreary and rainy!

Now we have screened windows and working sprinklers…any time the sun would like to show up would be fine with me!

So you can blame me.  It’s all my fault.  (Disclaimer: This is only for the southern California region…I am not to blame for all the May snowstorms and below 60 degree weather in the rest of the country.)

Hope you’re getting a taste of spring!

Also, today was bike to work day.  I did, and for this I received free breakfast, a bag of goodies including some patch kits, clif bars and bike maps of the LA area.  Also, free lunch and a raffle ticket…which I won.  $10 gift card to Subway!

And now, Cleo is snuggled next to me and has had at least 3 different dreams in the last hour and a half…there was some sleep-barking, some sleep-running and a lot of good twitching.  I’m guessing there were squirrels and maybe some rabbits involved.

Leave a Reply

