Back on the Workout Wagon…

December and January leave little time for much other than work…but I’m back on the wagon.  I know I’ll feel better, I’ll have more energy, I’ll get more accomplished…if I just make time for some exercise.  Woody and I both got pedometers for Christmas…and it has become a bit of a competition to see who walks further everyday.  Tuesday evening, i jumped right back into a Zumba class at the Caltech gym.  If you’re not familiar with Zumba…it is unofficially the most humiliating of aerobic cardio/dance classes…EVER!  I have no ego while in class and find myself continually giggling at how lost I am in the middle of a song.  But it’s fun, and it keeps me sweating for a full 60 minutes.

I also, through a colleague at work, ended up with a groupon for a new yoga place in old town.  I went to Yogahop last night for an hour long class.  I can’t tell you the last time I went to an actual yoga class…they’ve always seemed a bit intimidating!  So despite my anxiety about being the only one who didn’t know what they were doing and potentially looking like a broken pretzel…I walked into class, laid out my mat and jumped right in.  Luckily, there were only 4 other people in the class (read: there will only 3 people who will fall down laughing at my yoga attempt), and at least one other participant was a newbie as well.  Yep, that’s me taking pleasure in the fact that someone else might have been just as nervous and anxious as I was!  Don’t judge.  I actually like the class…and since the groupon was for 10 classes, I’ll be going back at least another nine times.

The weather is gorgeous today, the sun feels incredibly strong.  Maybe I’ll even squeeze in a hike this weekend!  Now it’s all about keeping up with it and continuing to find make time for exercise, and fitness.

One thought on “Back on the Workout Wagon…

  1. Hi Liz,
    I’ve tried Zumba also and realized I can’t move my arms, legs, and hips at the same time. Lots of fun as long as one isn’t afraid to look like a fool!– a heck of a workout too.

Leave a Reply

